Cricket Quickies: from Vengsarkar to Yuvraj and Younis

Yes, I promise to keep this short, for I’ve been rambling too much and I’m short of time but not of enthusiasm.

While channel surfing today, I caught a special on India’s tour of Australia in 1986 – an ODI at the MCG. Sunil Gavaskar was batting with a somber looking South India, whom I correctly guessed to be our very own Chika. While Chika’s simple style (at least of what I’ve seen in this innings) was catching indeed, what surprised me more was Dilip Vengsarkar. I’ve only known this man for the unkind words he’s had to say of Dravid. Today I got to the see the batting talent (among other things) that got him to the place from which he barbed. What struck me most in his expansive use of the crease, the sort of which reminds me of some 20-20 batsmen of late. The disregard for the stump guard that Vengsarkar displayed in this innings seemed very contemporary and is certainly not something I would have attributed to the batsmen from that age. Another thing that surprised me is that the next generation – Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly, Laxman and Co – did not seem to have this disregard for the stump guard, but in fact meticulously guarded it and in effect seem perhaps rather orthodox given such precedents. If you’re thinking I’ve watched only one innings from the 80s and that my observations are off-base, do enlighten me.

Meanwhile, “flat-pitch-bully” Yuvraj slammed an impressive century at Rajkot and the cricket site are abuzz with polls of whether Yuvi should make it to the Test middle order. Strangely 72% of cricketnext visitors seemed to think so, while 52% of cricinfo visitors seem to think not! Strange isn’t it? I’d be interested in knowing the age groups of the folks to who’ve voted and their vote. In case you’re wondering, I voted against, on both the sites. πŸ™‚

Another thought struck me today while watching parts of Pak vs. WI clash today. While I’ve labeled most of India’s recent ODI matches as boring, I found this one to be the contrary. I was not yawning, or absently glaring, waving my hands unconsciously when a four was hit, but was actually watching. There was class in Younis’s batting today (Ten Sports interrupted this with the ICL). There were elements from the ’90s batting, wristy flicks and “towards the ground” shots reserved in Indian cricket only to Tests nowadays. Call me old fashioned, but this was good ‘old cricket, without the fracas. May it live long!

14 Responses to Cricket Quickies: from Vengsarkar to Yuvraj and Younis

  1. Kaushik says:

    Seriously, I was quite bored watching the highlights of the Ind-Eng match itself. But was so interested in following the Cricinfo commentary for the other match. Tired of blaming the pitch-makers and BCCI. What to do.
    *Sigh*

  2. Soulberry says:

    Those reruns are good! Did you see sunny lofting it all over the park? πŸ™‚

    Vengy was good when on song…but an akward duckling when out of it.

  3. Som says:

    I guess Colonel had a spiked drink that morning. Otherwise, my memories of him is plonking his bat so often on the popping crease that it created a hole big enough to gobble up any unmindful player.

  4. Buzz says:

    Yeah Vm, Test cricket is the real one and ODIs this days seem boring πŸ™‚

    Vengsarkar was usual suspect in poking balls outside off and i remember his style of dismissals in his last tour of Ausralia 1992……

    BTW i m back πŸ™‚

  5. VM – brave of you to admit to yr no-go-yuvi vote.

    sb – you recall the time colonel mauled dev in a ranji showdown

  6. vm – how can i get comment updates

  7. vmminerva says:

    @Kaushik, I share your tiredness.

    @SB, yes I did watch Sunny. Some cracking shots those. This was the first time I watched Vengy, so you folks will know better.

    @Som, πŸ™‚ spiked drink. ha ha!

    @Buzz, glad that I’m not alone. Good to see you back.

    @NC, I used to be a Yuvi fan. That he can’t play on anything other than a flat track made him lose my vote so much so I’ve turned into a harsh critic. As for comment feeds, here is what I use in widget i have on the right.
    https://vmminerva.wordpress.com/comments/feed/
    I understand it works well for wordpress users. But I recall your mentioning that it didn’t work for you. When I find some time, I’ll do some testing on my blogger account. Meanwhile, good luck with it.

  8. Keshav says:

    Ya… very true.. ODIs ‘IN’ India are boooringgg… i was thinking to myself whether i was cranky, because I did not dare change the channel while watching the test series, somehow, losing interest in ODI’s, esp the ones in India. And Yuvi in tests, I agree with you, he is not quite like Symo who adjusts his game for ODI’s and tests, and well branded β€œflat-pitch-bully”, indeed he is!!!

  9. Scorpicity says:

    Colonel was all grace when in full flow… used to be one of my favs… he was more free flowing than some of the others. But I did have a distinct dislike for him then almost loved poking fun at him every time he screwed up. He was my current sunil Joshi back then for me πŸ™‚ for all the fun poking.

  10. Q says:

    May Younis’s form live long too!

  11. vmminerva says:

    @Keshav, glad we’re in agreement

    @Scorpy, “my current Sunil Joshi” sums it all up. Btw, Joshi almost won Karnataka a Ranji Match a few days ago. πŸ™‚

    @Q, Amen! He was a treat to watch.

  12. Scorpicity says:

    What!!!!!!!!!! Are you sure it is Sunil Joshi? Am sure the other side had a massive diarrhea attack… it just can’t be…nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  13. Soulberry says:

    Just checkin if you’re around πŸ™‚

  14. vmminerva says:

    @Scorpy, yes, can you believe it? πŸ˜‰ He took 7 wickets or something (in one innings) if my memory serves me right.

    @SB, Yes, I am, now. Nice of you to ask. I had been away for over a week. Am back now, at least partly.

Leave a Reply

