Pakistan lift Kitply cup

After storming bad weather amid a barrage of criticism, Pakistan managed to beat India and lift the Kitply Cup. As an India supporter, I’m not too upset, in fact, I’m OK with it. Some sloppiness aside, it was an evenly matched contest that we got to see in the final. Although I didn’t watch the entire match and cannot comment on most of Pakistan’s batting and Indian new-found middle order, I must say that Pakistan did well to win. Maybe it had to do with the PCB Board members’ presence. šŸ™‚ Having said that, they seemed to lack self-belief. Until the fall of the 8th Indian wicket, they didn’t really believe that they had the match.

As for India, I got to see what I wanted to – the consequence of an Indian top order failure. As Pak broke thru the Delhi-Daredevils’ opening pair of Gambhir and Sehwag, the Indian batting seemed only a bit better than that of Delhi Daredevils. I mean, you don’t expect Yuvraj to hang around and play a long innings – he seems to have become more of a T20 batsman in ODI clothes with the temperment not helping one bit. Dhoni coming down low in the order didn’t help, neither did Irfan Pathan’s struggling angled-bat shots. Being beaten several times, Irfan seems to have lost it. I remember the days when he used to open the batting with Tendulkar, and then open the bowling. What has happened to that batsmen?

Meanwhile, too much cricket has indeed been played over the past couple of months. That is perhaps to blame for some of the loss of intensity. But then again, it’s only just another one of the zillions of cups. Do you also feel this way? Is this just another cup? Does this loss of India mean anything to you? If it doesn’t is that because there have been too many ODI tournaments or that India’s recent success has made us more tolerant as fans?

As for me, I’m looking forward to the upcoming India-Sri Lanka Test series.

11 Responses to Pakistan lift Kitply cup

  1. k5I-Iitij says:

    Congratulations to Team Pakistan and all the Pakistani supporters.All credit goes to Younus Khan for his brilliant innings which can be described in 1 word as “counter-attack”.
    I think our team also performed really well.Inspite of the huge task of chasing 316 runs, they never looked under pressure (this is the speciality of New Team India).I think that the wickets which our batsmen thrown at regular intervals handed away the match to Pakistan.
    By the way, I really liked your blog.Keep it up!

  2. Ottayan says:

    VMM,

    Spot on. However, I think the law of averages caught up with Inida. Bodes well for us in the Championship Trophy. šŸ™‚

  3. Apurv says:

    Spot on VM. I am looking foward to the Test series as well. I hardly watched the final. The general attitude seemed to be that even if we lose this final there is always going to be one happenning next week.

    The organisers of such tournaments have devalued one day internationals.By logic, the Asia Cup and the Champions trophy should be the most important tournaments after the Wrold Cup. But no body seems to be interested in these tournaments.

  4. the only interest from forthcomng test series between ind and srilanka for me is to see how players respond to this new challenge system…and how umpires cop with egg on their face…

  5. vmminerva says:

    @k5I-Iitij. welcome to my blog and thank you for the kind words. You are right abt the speciality of the New Team India. However, I must say that self-belief is the only thing that the previous ODI squad with the Tendulkar, Ganguly, Dravid lineup missed. Talent wise, they would score higher.

    @Ottayan, law of averages indeed!

    @Apurv, “even if we lose this final there is always going to be one happenning next week” makes me smile šŸ™‚

    @SP, yep, that would interesting indeed. Given that this series will be between the Asian folk, I don’t expect any eyebrow-raising stuff.

  6. Soulberry says:

    I really couldn’t take this series in Victoria. I believe it was exciting. So I’ll go by the written word šŸ™‚

    Pakistan played well and used all their experience.

    As you say, this is good for the Indian team. Allows them to look at weak areas.

    I didn’t see Rohit Sharma play those games…how was he playing?

    Somehow his career 50/50 scores suggest he’s like a fish out of water beyond T20.

    And here we all are gettiung ready to promote him into the test side wih an average Ranji record also to boot. Needs reconsideration.

  7. vmminerva says:

    @Soulberry, I also watched only in bits and pieces. Rohit Sharma is turning out to be another Kaif – promised a lot, without having delivered much. He seems to be losing patience. Or maybe we overrated his patience. All these youngsters need Ranji and lots of it, I still can’t see these folks playing Test cricket.

  8. scorpicity says:

    What is now required for them is time off… a good really long time off. The amount of cricket this team plays is ridiculous.

  9. vmminerva says:

    @Scorpy, ridiculous is the word.

  10. trideep says:

    I dont mind this defeat. The whole point of this series was to warm up for the asia cup later. But India will definitely have to work on the consistency of their middle order.

  11. vmminerva says:

    @trideep, true. This middle order has several holes in it.

Leave a Reply

