Squad for Bangladesh tri-series, Asia cup sans Ganguly, Dravid, Tendulkar

Yes, for the first time without either of the Big Three (if memory serves me right). The squad is primarily the one that won the ODI series in Australia earlier this year with a few new faces.

Here they are: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt), Yuvraj Singh (Vice-capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Suresh Raina, S Sreesanth, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, R P Singh, Piyush Chawla and Pragyan Ojha.

My issues? Not including either one of Ganguly or Dravid (honestly, I would have like to see Dravid in). Neither are out of form, definitely not Dravid. He has scored over 300 runs in the IPL- that is mind you, only 16 short of Dhoni’s run count – with an average around 30. The young team, preparing for the 2011 World Cup and that is fine, but I think India will do well to use some of the services of the war horses for they still have a year (if not two) of cricket left in them. Sad? Yes. Expected? Perhaps Yes. I still had a glimmer of hope. But I think I see the harsh truth only now. Dravid and Ganguly might have played the last ODIs of their career. Fellow blogger Soulberry, saw this coming much and bade goodbye to them (in ODIs) back in January. I could dwell on this for a while, but I will save that for another post.

Moving on to the rest of the squad. Going by his recent IPL outings and the last couple of ODIs Uthappa doesn’t deserve a place. RP has been a bit shaky of late. As for the new inclusions Ohja and Yusuf, I haven’t watched much of Ohja, so can’t comment on him. I’m not sure Yusuf Pathan is as deserving as some of the Southern folk, esp, Chennai Super Kings’ Badrinath (as Ottayan duly supports). Meanwhile couldn’t help but feel sorry for Manoj Tiwary: one jet-lagged T20 innings goes poof and so does his India cap eh? Wonder what is the deal with Joginder Sharma? Why hasn’t Dhoni be able to get him? He seems to have a lot of trust on the guy.

Anyway, I’m not very excited about this series. Call me old-fashioned, obstinate, or whatever else, but without Tendulkar, Ganguly or Dravid, the India spirt is missing, at least for me. I might take a break from Indian cricket and watch the Aus vs. WI or Eng vs. NZ. Damn my cable operator, I don’t get Star cricket. Hope to find one soon that carries it.

9 Responses to Squad for Bangladesh tri-series, Asia cup sans Ganguly, Dravid, Tendulkar

  1. Ottayan says:

    I alaso support the inclusion of Gony and Venugopala Rao.

    As for Ganguly, Dravid and Tendulkar, Indian cricket is much better off without them. Having said that what they have done for Indian cricket until now is unparalleled. It is just that they have nothing to offer in the future.

  2. fbhdfgh says:

    i think ur wrong the big thrre are good but their time is over and its time for youngsters like pathan and raina

  3. vmminerva says:

    @ Ottayan, I knew you would say that ๐Ÿ™‚

    @fbhdfgh, welcome to my blog. Btw, is that really your psedo name. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. nopes c oldies era have passed away atleast of Dravid,Saurav
    we need fresh legs for future

    Rao was given chance in odi n he didnt performed
    n for Goni T20 is still differnt from ODI so he will have to perform i domestic level as well

  5. vmminerva says:

    @t20 cricket fan, welcome. Fresh legs are needed indeed, but I would have been happier to see at least one of the seniors.

  6. Ikram says:

    Experience is experience. No body can improve or even learn without either watching the seniors or playing with them. It is about feelings, passion… DAMN it man DAMN!! U silly gus cant understand. SACHIN is sachin. How dare we talk about leaving him.

    Those who talk against experience, go to hell. U know nothing.

  7. ankur says:

    without tendulkar indian team is nothing. he solely won the tri series against aus.yes withot him we gonna loose asia cup

  8. vmminerva says:

    @ankur, welcome. I won’t go so far and say that the Indian team is nothing without Tendulkar. In Test matches, yes, undoubtedly. But I do agree with you in that it was he that played a major role in winning the ODI series in Aus – a win that is falsely celebrated as one belonging to the young Indian side.

  9. […] as Soulberry calls them. Yes, Ottayan, I will resume my own clamoring though I have done that time and again. Thank you for egging me […]

Leave a Reply

